Tieva Chapel

Tieva Chapel

The first tourist chapel in Lapland, Tieva Chapel, was built in 1978 from old logs of Ivalo prayer house. Tieva Chapel is located in Kakslauttanen near the ski tracks. This ascetic yet serene chapel is open around the clock for any one to stop by and have a quiet...
Tankavaara Gold Prospector Museum

Tankavaara Gold Prospector Museum

Tankavaara Gold Prospector Museum is situated in the genuine gold district of Sodankylä, in Northern Lapland (30 km to the South from Saariselkä). Tankavaara’s Gold Prospector Museum was founded in 1973 and it is the only international museum in the world...
Prospektori gold mine and miner’ hut

Prospektori gold mine and miner’ hut

The Prospektori miner’ hut is an old gold mine which belonged to the mining company Prospektor in the beginning of the 19th century. The mining company Prospektori founfed the mine in 1902 because there was said to be gold in Saariselkä. However, they never...
St. Paul Chapel

St. Paul Chapel

St. Paul ecumenical Chapel in Saariselkä was completed in 1996. It is a fell chapel built from logs and seats a congregation of 210. The fell chapel has a unique altarpiece, a window behind the altar, from which a majestic view of the fells opens. A mass is held in...
Ruin of Piponius’ hut

Ruin of Piponius’ hut

Ruin of Piponius’ hut are part of the early gold digging history of Saariselkä. Johan Albert Piponius from Alavieska had the first gold claim in Saariselkä in 1871. His claim was situated very close to where nowadays is the Santa’s Hotel Tunturi. The story...
Перейти к содержимому